Top of main content

FAQs: Foreign Exchange

Frequently asked questions related to HSBC China’s Foreign Exchange products and services.

What foreign currency services does HSBC provide?

We provide multi-currency account services including cash deposit and withdrawal, term deposits, home mortgage loan, remittance, foreign currency exchange and rate enquiry. 

Notes accounts: HKD, USD, JPY and EUR.

Exchange accounts: HKD, USD, JPY, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, SGD and NZD.

Will I get the latest exchange rates?

Yes, HSBC China's exchange service offers the latest exchange rates. Our foreign exchange service will automatically apply the latest exchange rate when your transaction is made. The exchange rate is a live rate, which is updated minute-by-minute during market hours.

How do I convert foreign currency to Renminbi?

The annual quota for individual settlement of foreign exchange is equivalent to USD50,000 per person per year. Within the quota, you may approach an HSBC branch with your valid ID or log on to Online Banking (single transaction amount via Online Banking cannot exceed USD20,000 or equivalent).

I have used up my annual conversion quota. Is there any other option if I want to exchange foreign currency to Renminbi?

Conversion over the quota requires relevant supporting documents. You can approach HSBC to exchange foreign currency to Renminbi with valid identity certificates and supporting documents, eg invoice for daily purchase or contract (when converting a large sum eg for buying a car, home renovations etc).

If you are planning to purchase property* and the price in Renminbi exceeds the annual quota, it is necessary to provide the purchase contract.

* According to SAFE regulations, purchase of residential property for self use is permitted for overseas individuals (excluding Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan residents and overseas Chinese) who have worked or studied in China for over one year. For Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan residents and overseas Chinese who work/live/study in China are permitted to purchase residential property of certain size for self use. 

How do I convert Renminbi into foreign currency as an overseas individual?

There is no quota for overseas customers to purchase foreign currency. Valid identity certificate and the related evidential materials should be presented at HSBC local branches for application:

  • With regard to the legal income in Renminbi under the Current Account Foreign Currency Funds held within Mainland China, you should purchase foreign currency by presenting your valid identity certificate and the related evidential materials (inclusive of tax voucher). 
  • When the legal income of Renminbi comes from salary or other types of income issued from a foreign-investment enterprise to non-China nationals/Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan residents/overseas Chinese, you should purchase foreign currency by presenting your relevant certificate and documents subject to your after-tax income.
  • In order to reconvert an unused portion of Renminbi previously converted from a foreign currency back into the original foreign currency you must present your valid identity certificate and the original exchange voucher. The validity term of the original exchange voucher is 24 months from the exchange date. If the total amount converted in the same day is not more than USD500 equivalent (including USD500), or the total amount converted in the same day at premises within Mainland China's borders, but outside of China's Customs before your departure is not more than USD1,000 equivalent (including USD1,000), you need to only present your valid identity certificate in order to reconvert the unused portion of Renminbi to the original foreign currency.
  • When converting Renminbi proceeds from the sale of a property, you can refer to Detailed Rules for Further Improving and Adjusting Foreign Exchange Administration Policies for Direct Investment [Reference number: Huifa No. 59 [2012]] and Further Simplifying and Improving Policies for the Foreign Exchange Administration of Direct Investment (Annex: Operating Guidelines for Foreign Exchange Business in Direct Investment) [Reference number: Huifa No. 13 [2015]] for further information. You are welcome to present the relevant documents and conduct foreign exchange settlement at HSBC local branches.

For more information, please refer to the Frequently asked questions page.

Disclaimer

These FAQs are intended to provide an overview of the information on issues related to financial products or services, or regulatory requirements faced when undertaking financial activity in mainland China. Due to the diversity and  complexity of financial products/services and local regulatory environment, these FAQs can only provide an outline of the issues. The information is provided for your reference only, and shall not be construed as legal, financial or any other professional advice. HSBC makes no guarantee, representation or warranty and accepts no responsibility for the accuracy updatedness and/or completeness of the information.

Latest update in Nov. 2016

页面顶部

常见问题:外汇

有关汇丰中国的产品及服务的问题及解答。

汇丰银行提供哪些外币银行服务?

我行可提供定期和活期的外币存款、贷款、汇款、转账、结汇、货币买卖及汇率查询等银行业务。个人账户分外币现汇账户和外币现钞账户。

外币现钞:港币、美元、日元、欧元;

外币现汇:港币、美元、日元、欧元、英镑、加拿大元、澳大利亚元、新加坡元、新西兰元。

怎么查询汇丰银行(中国)最新的外币汇率?

汇丰银行(中国)外币汇率,为您提供每日最新外币汇率查询。其中的货币兑换功能,可根据当前的外币汇率自动计算货币间的兑换金额。

境外个人如何办理结汇业务?

国家外汇管理局对个人结汇实行年度总额管理,年度总额为每人每年等值50,000美元。对于额度内的结汇业务,您可携带本人有效身份证件亲临汇丰中国分支行进行办理或登录个人电子银行进行办理(电子银行结汇业务单笔交易金额不超过等值20,000美元)。

如果我的年度总额已使用完毕,是否还有其他途径可办理结汇?

超额结汇需携带本人有效身份证件及相关证明材料亲临汇丰中国分支行办理,证明材料包括:发票(该类发票需为您的生活类支出开销,如购置生活用品、餐馆饮食、出租车等各类日常生活支出)、合同(适用于因为购车、装修等而需进行大额结汇时)。

若您有意向于中国大陆购置自住房产*,而房产价值超出您的结汇年度总额,则必须提供购房合同等证明材料进行超额结汇。

* 根据国家外汇管理局相关规定,在境内工作、学习时间超过一年的境外个人(不含港澳台居民和华侨),可购买符合实际需要的自住商品房;在境内工作、学习和居留的港澳台居民和华侨因生活需要,可在境内购买一定面积的自住商品房。

如何办理购汇业务?

境外个人购汇不适用年度总额管理,需提供以下本人身份证明文件和有交易额的证明材料在银行办理:

  • 在境内取得的经常项目合法人民币收入,凭本人有效身份证件和有交易额的相关证明材料(含税务凭证)办理购汇。
  • 外商投资企业中外籍、华侨、港澳台职工可持证明文件及材料,就依法纳税后的人民币工资及其他正当收益,到我行进行购汇。
  • 原兑换未用完的人民币兑回外汇,凭本人有效身份证件和原兑换水单办理,原兑换水单的兑回有效期为自兑换日起24个月;对于当日累计兑换不超过等值500美元(含)以及离境前在境内关外场所当日累计不超过等值1000美元(含)的兑换,可凭本人有效身份证件办理。
  • 转让境内商品房所得资金购付汇.(参见2012年12月17日执行的《关于进一步改进和调整直接投资外汇管理政策的通知》汇发[2012]59号文以及国家外汇管理局关于进一步简化和改进直接投资外汇管理政策的通知》)(汇发[2015]13号)中的《直接投资外汇业务操作指引》),在提供了规定的文件后,在银行直接办理。

更多信息,请返回常见问题页面进行查询。

免责声明

以上常见问题旨在提供于中国大陆开展金融活动所可能面临的与金融产品、服务或监管要求相关的概略信息。因金融产品/服务及相关监管要求的多样性和复杂性,这些常见问题无法涵盖所有细节。有关信息仅供您参考,且不能将其作为法律、金融或任何其他方面的专业意见。汇丰银行对该等信息之准确性、及时性及/或完整性不作任何担保、陈述或保证,亦不承担与此相关的任何责任。

最近一次更新在2016年11月