Top of main content

FAQs: Debit Cards

FAQs on HSBC China’s products and services.

Applying debit cards

What are the characteristics of HSBC China debit cards?

HSBC China Debit Cards are multi-currency debit cards. They must be linked with a Renminbi Settlement Account as the primary account and may also be linked with a maximum of two Renminbi Settlement Accounts or Foreign Currency Savings Accounts (non-joint account) as supplementary accounts. HSBC China Debit Cards have the functions of cash withdrawal, fund transfer and Point of Sale spending. They can be used to conduct banking transactions at HSBC China ATMs, domestic and overseas UnionPay ATMs and Point of Sale Terminals and HSBC Group ATMs outside Mainland China. For details, please refer to the HSBC China Debit Cards Service Guide.

How can I apply for HSBC China debit cards?

Any individual who has a Renminbi Settlement Account (sole personal account) with HSBC China may apply for HSBC China Debit Cards by presenting their valid identification documents. HSBC Premier customers (with a sole Premier account) can apply for an HSBC Premier Debit Card.

Will HSBC charge an annual fee for debit cards?

No. HSBC China Debit Card holders can enjoy all the convenience and benefits without paying an annual fee.

What are the specific functions of HSBC China debit cards?

In China cardholders can withdraw cash in Renminbi at UnionPay ATMs, or make purchases via UnionPay Point of Sale Terminals, in which case the primary Renminbi Settlement Account linked to their debit card will be debited. Cardholders may also withdraw cash in Renminbi from both primary and supplementary Renminbi accounts at HSBC China ATMs.

Outside China, cardholders may withdraw cash in local currency at UnionPay (non-HSBC Group) ATMs or make purchases via UnionPay Point of Sale terminals, in which case the primary Renminbi Settlement Account linked to the debit card will be debited. Cardholders may withdraw cash in local currency from their foreign currency accounts (if any) linked to their debit cards at HSBC Group ATMs outside China and subject to local laws. 

Attention: For overseas HSBC Group ATMs with UnionPay logo, the transaction will be processed through the HSBC global ATM network and you can withdraw cash from your Foreign Currency Account. If you want to withdraw cash through overseas HSBC Group ATMs (except for Taiwan area and Australia), please ensure your debit card has been linked with a Foreign Currency Account with sufficient available balance.

*Please note that available functions also depend on the particular ATM. For details, please refer to the HSBC China Debit Cards Service Guide.

Is there a cash withdrawal limit on HSBC debit cards?

In Mainland China, cardholders can withdraw cash only in Renminbi at China UnionPay ATMs and HSBC China ATMs. The cumulative daily upper limit for cash withdrawals is RMB20,000.

Outside Mainland China, cardholders can withdraw cash in local currency at China UnionPay (Non-HSBC Group) ATMs; the cumulative daily upper limit for cash withdrawals is RMB10,000 or its equivalent currency amount. Cardholders can also withdraw cash in local currency at HSBC Group ATMs; the cumulative daily upper limit is USD1,000 or its equivalent currency amount; USD5,000 or equivalent for one month; USD10,000 or equivalent for six months; and USD20,000 or equivalent for one year.

Is there a Point of Sale spending limit on HSBC debit cards?

A daily Point of Sale terminal spending limit is set to the debit card in order to protect you from potential threats or losses in case your card were lost, stolen or used in another fraudulent way. Large transactions exceeding the limit restriction cannot be completed. You can apply to reset or adjust the daily Point of Sale terminal spending limit (capped at RMB 1million) based on your debit card usage and attitude to risk. We will by default apply a daily Point of Sale terminal spending limit of RMB50,000, if you don’t apply to set a limit.

Using debit cards

How can I change the PIN?

You can change the PIN at HSBC China ATMs. Here’s how:

  1. Enter your original PIN and press ENTER
  2. Select "Other Function" and then "Change PIN"
  3. Follow the instructions to enter NEW PIN twice and then Original PIN once

Can I adjust the accounts linked to the debit card?

Please contact our service hotline or visit an HSBC China branch in person with your valid identification documents and your debit card if you want to apply for supplementary account adjustment. The primary account linked to the debit card can't be changed, therefore we suggest you link the most commonly used account to your debit card as a primary account and link the other accounts you need as supplementary accounts. If you have to change the primary account, please visit an HSBC China branch in person with your valid identification documents and your debit card to cancel the old card and apply for a new one.

Why might my debit card suddenly not work?

If you are unable to withdraw cash via an ATM or are refused payment for a purchase via a Point of Sale terminal, it might be caused by the following possible reasons:

  • Card/account problem

For example: the magnetic strip at the back of the debit card is damaged, there is insufficient balance in the debit card account, or the cash withdrawal amount exceeds the prescribed limit.

  • System problem

For example: ATM/Point of Sale equipment error, busy network or breakdown.

Cardholders may be able to tell whether the card is damaged by using the balance enquiry function or using different cards at the same ATM. You can also call HSBC China 24-hour customer service hotline, the number of which is on the back of your debit card.

What should I do if my debit card were lost?

Please contact HSBC China immediately.

HSBC 24-hour Premier customer service hotline:

400-820-8828

HSBC 24-hour Advance customer service hotline:

400-820-8878

Please dial China country code +86 if you are calling from overseas

How do I get a replacement card if I find my card is damaged?

You should visit an HSBC China branch in person with your valid identification documents and your debit card for card replacement. For security reasons, the old card must be returned for our destruction before we can issue a new card (except in cases where the card is stolen or lost). 

What should I do if I forget my PIN?

You should submit a written PIN reset application in person at an HSBC China branch with your valid identification documents and your debit card, or apply through Online Banking. A reset PIN will be mailed to your correspondence address maintained at the bank or branch for your collection within about seven working days.

What should I do if my debit card is retained at an ATM?

If it's an HSBC ATM, you may call our 24-hour service hotline on 400-820-8878 and our representatives will provide you with information about the detailed eligibility, address and procedure for card collection.

You should contact the owner-bank of the ATM holding your card and the card will be disposed of according to its related procedures. If you can't immediately contact the bank holding your card, you should call us to report the loss verbally to ensure the card is safely protected. Then you can choose to go to an HSBC China branch to apply for a new card or go to the bank holding your card to collect the old card.

How can I transfer money to the HSBC debit card from other banks?

If you want to transfer money from other banks to your HSBC China debit card, you can transfer the funds to your personal account attached to the debit card. For the number of the inbound account, you must fill in the account number. Please do not fill in the debit card number because it may result in transfer failure.

How can I withdraw cash from the account I designated?

A debit card can be linked with a maximum of three accounts: a primary account, a secondary account, and a third account.

When you travel overseas you can withdraw the destination country's local currency through China UnionPay network ATMs from the Renminbi primary account linked to your card, or through HSBC ATMs from your foreign currency account linked to your card. For more details, please refer to "HSBC China Debit Card Service Guide".

If you hope to withdraw cash from your designated foreign currency account, please make a supplementary account adjustment by following these two steps: 

1. Apply to link the designated foreign currency account to your debit card as the secondary account.

This will help you to withdraw cash conveniently via HSBC ATMs in various countries since it has priority to be accessed via HSBC ATMs in some countries eg Canada, UK, USA and Japan. 

2. To finalise the change to your supplementary accounts, please use your debit card at HSBC China ATMs to complete any of the following actions: transactions, balance enquiry, cash withdrawal and screen language change.

Does HSBC China Debit Card support online payment? What is the online payment platform?

Yes. HSBC China Debit Card supports UnionPay online payment. Please note that your payment will be completed by ExpressPay or VeriPay. For details, please refer to UnionPay online payment.

What is the UnionPay Online Payment daily limit for each customer?

There are two limits, the single payment limit and cumulative daily payment limit. The default single payment limit is RMB3,000 while the default cumulative daily payment limit is RMB10,000. You can customize your limits (capped to the default amount) via HSBC China Online Banking or by calling our 24/7 service hotline on 400-820-8878. The above limits are subject to the cumulative daily Point of Sale spending limit of your HSBC China Debit Cards which is RMB50,000. 

Can I pay in foreign currencies on UnionPay online payment?

No. The UnionPay online payment is only linked to your Renminbi account.

Are there any fee / charges when using UnionPay online payment?

The UnionPay online payment service is available to customers as a free service. HSBC China will not charge an extra fee from our customers.

Before using UnionPay online payment, do I need to visit an HSBC China branch to activate this function?

Yes. You need to visit an HSBC China branch in person to activate UnionPay online payment function per regulatory requirement. If you need the recurring service of UnionPay Debit Card, you still need to ensure the online payment function has been activated.

Do I need to register for Online Banking before I use the UnionPay online payment function?

Via Online Banking, you can adjust your UnionPay online payment limits and change your mobile phone number that you register with HSBC China for the SMS Alert Messaging Service (SAMS). Therefore it's highly recommended that you register for Online Banking in order to enjoy a more secure and convenient service. Without Online Banking, you still need to apply for the SMS Alert Messaging Service (SAMS) so you can get verification with the registered mobile phone number.

What mobile phone number should I input?

The mobile phone number that you input should the one that you use for the HSBC China SMS service. Please have your mobile phone on. Mobile phones outside of Mainland China do not support this service. 

How do I change the mobile phone number that I use for UnionPay online payments?

The mobile phone number is important for the verfication, so you must ensure that this number is the same with the one that you use for HSBC China. If you do need to change the mobile phone number, you need to contact HSBC China to update your mobile phone number. HSBC China customers can log on to Online Banking to change the number under "SMS Alert Messaging Service". You can then change your mobile phone number that you use for UnionPay Online the next day. You can also call our Phone Banking hotline to complete the above procedures.

How long will it take for UnionPay online payment to be effective after activation?

After activation, you need to log on to China UnionPay to complete the online signing and identity verification. After that, you can enjoy the UnionPay online payment services.

Account

How can I terminate the UnionPay online payment function?

You can log on to the official China UnionPay website to terminate this function. If you need assistance, you can dial our customer service hotline to terminate it.

How do I track my UnionPay online payment transaction history?

Please log on to the official China UnionPay website and click "Transaction Enquiry" to see your transaction history. You can also log on to HSBC China Online Banking.

How can I modify or cancel my online payment order?

Once payment has been submitted, you cannot modify or cancel the order and the cardholder must contact the merchant directly to do so (if applicable).

What if I accidentally submitted the same order twice? Is it possible to create duplicate payments?

Our China UnionPay online payment function has restricted the possibility of duplicate payments.

What should I do if I have a UnionPay online payment failure?

In general, if you see a payment failure the payment page would show you the error and the reason for it. The possible reasons might be PIN error or insufficient funds. According to the error message, you can choose to try again, contact the shopping website or call UnionPay online payment's customer service hotline on 95516.

How can I download UnionPay online payment security controls?

To keep cardholders' information secure, China UnionPay uses online payment security controls to protect users. To download them, go to the Help Centre on the UnionPay Online Payment website.

For more information, please refer to the Frequently asked questions page.

Disclaimer

These FAQs are intended to provide an overview of the information on issues related to financial products or services, or regulatory requirements faced when undertaking financial activity in mainland China. Due to the diversity and  complexity of financial products/services and local regulatory environment, these FAQs can only provide an outline of the issues. The information is provided for your reference only, and shall not be construed as legal, financial or any other professional advice. HSBC makes no guarantee, representation or warranty and accepts no responsibility for the accuracy updatedness and/or completeness of the information.

Latest update in Nov. 2016

页面顶部

常见问题:借记卡

有关汇丰中国的产品及服务的问题及解答。

借记卡申请相关问题

汇丰中国借记卡有什么特点?

汇丰中国借记卡为银联标准个人借记卡,为本、外币多币种借记卡,至少关联一个人民币结算主账户,最多可同时关联两个人民币结算账户或其他币种的个人储蓄账户(非联名账户)作为附属账户。 汇丰中国借记卡具有提取现金、网上支付和消费等功能,详情可查询汇丰中国借记卡服务指南。

汇丰中国借记卡申请有什么条件?

您只需在我行开立人民币结算账户(独立的个人账户),即可凭您的有效身份证件申请汇丰中国借记卡。卓越理财客户(拥有独立的卓越理财账户)可申请汇丰中国卓越理财借记卡。

汇丰中国借记卡是否收取借记卡年费?

汇丰中国借记卡不向您收取年费,您可轻松拥有并享受便捷的金融服务。

汇丰中国借记卡有哪些主要功能?

在境内,您可以凭卡及密码在贴有银联标识的自动柜员机提取人民币现金或通过贴有银联标识的POS机进行消费,此时您使用的是您在汇丰中国借记卡下关联的人民币主账户。您也可以通过汇丰中国的境内自动柜员机从汇丰中国借记卡下关联的人民币主账户或人民币附属账户提取人民币现金。

在境外,您可以凭卡及密码在贴有银联标识的非汇丰集团自动柜员机提取当地货币现金或通过贴有银联标识的POS机进行消费,此时您使用的是您在借记卡下关联的人民币主账户。您也可以使用汇丰集团的自动柜员机(受限于相关国家/地区汇丰银行的具体情况),从您在借记卡下关联的外币账户(如果您的借记卡已关联有外币账户)中提取当地货币现金。

特别注意:对于境外贴有银联标识的汇丰自动柜员机,交易会通过汇丰全球自动柜员机网络进行处理,取款账户为已关联的外币账户,并非借记卡内人民币结算账户(台湾地区、澳大利亚除外)(如需从汇丰境外自动柜员机取款,请确保您的借记卡已关联有余额充足的外币账户)。

*更多详情可查询汇丰中国借记卡服务指南。

汇丰中国借记卡在自动柜员机上提取现金有金额限制吗?

在境内,您在汇丰中国的自动柜员机上和贴有中国银联标识的自动柜员机上提取人民币,每天累计取现金额最高可达人民币20,000元。

在境外,您在贴有银联标识的非汇丰集团自动柜员机上提取所在地当地货币,每天累计限额为10,000元人民币等值外币,每年累计限额为100,000元人民币等值外币;或通过在汇丰集团自动柜员机从外币附属账户提取所在地当地货币,每天累计限额为1,000美元或等值外币,每月累计限额为5,000美金或等值外币;每6个月累计限额为10,000美金或等值外币;每12个月累计限额为20,000美金或等值外币。

汇丰中国借记卡在商户进行刷卡消费时有金额限制吗?

汇丰中国借记卡设置每日累计消费金额的上限,以更好地保护您的用卡安全,在您的借记卡遭遇遗失、被窃或盗用等情形时可在一定程度上控制您的资金损失金额。若您当日持卡累计消费金额超过您的每日累计消费限额,则相关消费交易将无法进行。您可根据自身的用卡需求以及对风险控制的需要,申请设置或调整每日累计消费限额(最高不超过100万元人民币);若您未申请设置每日累计消费限额,则将自动适用我行所设置的默认5万元人民币每日累计消费限额。

借记卡使用相关问题

怎样修改借记卡的密码?

您可在汇丰中国的自动柜员机上修改借记卡的密码。操作步骤为:

  1. 输入您的原密码,按“确认”键
  2. 选择“其他功能”和“更改密码”服务
  3. 按屏幕上的指示分别输入两遍新密码,再输入一遍原密码

是否可以更改借记卡下关联的账户?

您可以更改借记卡下关联的附属账户,但是无法更改主账户。主账户必须关联已开立的人民币结算账户。如需更改关联的附属账户,您可致电我行客户服务热线或者携带您的有效身份证件和借记卡,亲临我行营业网点申请办理。由于主账户不可更改,建议您将最常用的人民币结算账户关联为借记卡的主账户,将其他您所需要的账户关联为借记卡的附属账户。若您必须更改借记卡下关联的主账户,请携带您的有效身份证件和借记卡亲临我行营业网点办理取消旧卡和申领新卡。请注意:完成修改后,持此借记卡到汇丰中国自动柜员机上进行任一笔交易/操作(包括查询、取款、屏幕语言修改等),该等修改方可生效。

为什么我的卡片用不了了?

若您的卡片在自动柜员机上取现失败或POS机上消费刷卡刷不过,可能有以下几种原因:

  • 卡片本身的原因

比如卡片的芯片或背面的磁条损坏或消磁,卡片内的金额不足(或取现金额已超过取现限额)。

  • 系统故障

比如机器故障,网络繁忙或发生故障。

您可通过在自动柜员机上查询余额或观察其他卡片是否能够正常使用,来简单判断是否为卡片本身的原因。或致电卡片背后的汇丰中国24小时客户服务热线,由我们协助您处理问题。

发现卡片遗失如何处理?

请立即致电汇丰中国24小时卓越理财客户服务热线:400-820-8828

亦可致电汇丰中国24小时运筹理财客户服务热线:400-820-8878

若您在海外或港澳台地区,请在号码前加拨中国地区码+86

发现卡片损毁时如何更换新卡?

您可携带您的有效身份证件和借记卡亲临我行营业网点申请更换新卡。出于安全考虑,更换新卡时(挂失更换除外),请您将旧卡提交给我行以作销毁处置。

我忘记借记卡密码了怎么办?

若您遗忘借记卡密码,可凭您的有效身份证件和借记卡向汇丰中国书面申请重置密码或通过个人网上银行提交密码重置申请。重置的密码将于7个工作日左右按您的要求邮寄给您或送达相应网点以便您领取。

我的借记卡被自动柜员机吞卡了怎么办?

您须立即联系自动柜员机所属银行,按其相关规定程序处理。如在紧急情况下吞卡无法立即联系自动柜员机所属银行,出于安全考虑,您应先致电我行进行口头挂失,以确保卡片的使用安全,然后在方便的时候至我行营业网点申请更换新卡或及时至自动柜员机所属银行将卡片取回。

我想从其他银行转钱到汇丰中国借记卡,如何操作?

如您要从其他银行转钱到汇丰中国借记卡,只需将款项转到汇丰中国借记卡下关联的个人账户中。并请注意将收款方账号填写为借记卡下关联的具体账号,请不要填写借记卡的卡号,以免导致转账失败。

在境外如何通过借记卡从期望的账户中取出现金?

借记卡下最多可以关联三个账户,分别为主账户、第二账户(附属账户)、第三账户(附属账户)。

在境外,您可通过贴有银联标识的非汇丰集团自动柜员机从借记卡下关联的人民币主账户提取当地货币;也可以通过汇丰集团的自动柜员机从借记卡下关联的外币附属账户提取当地货币。具体请查阅《汇丰中国借记卡服务指南》。

如果您期望到境外通过借记卡从指定的外币附属账户中取出现金,请在出发前按照如下步骤更改您的借记卡附属账户:

1、向汇丰中国申请将指定外币附属账户关联到您借记卡上作为第二账户。

由于部分国家(如加拿大、英国、美国、日本)默认优先从第二账户取款,将您指定的外币账户作为借记卡的第二账户可以确保您在不同国家汇丰集团自动柜员机上都能顺利取款。

2、完成修改后,持此借记卡到汇丰中国自动柜员机上进行任一笔交易/操作(包括查询、取款、屏幕语言修改等),以上修改方可生效。

汇丰借记卡是否支持网上支付?使用什么平台?

汇丰中国借记卡已经支持网上支付,可以通过银联在线支付平台实现网上支付。使用时请注意必须通过银联在线支付的页面进行快捷支付或认证支付方可完成交易。详细请查阅银联在线支付介绍。

银联在线支付中,快捷支付与认证支付的单笔/单日支付限额分别是多少?

两种支付方式共用单笔/单日支付限额,默认支付限额单笔人民币3,000元,单日累计支付限额人民币10,000元。汇丰中国网上银行或24小时服务热线400-820-8878(若您在海外或港澳台地区,请在号码前加拨中国地区码+86),调整限额不超过默认限额。同时,上述限额受限于您借记卡的每日累计消费限额。目前,汇丰中国默认的每日累计消费限额为人民币50,000元。

银联在线支付中,是否能用外币支付?

不可以。通过银联网络,使用的是您关联在借记卡上的人民币账户。

使用银联在线支付会有额外费用吗?

没有。通过银联在线支付时,汇丰中国不会收取额外费用。

使用银联在线支付前,是否需要去汇丰中国网点申请激活“银联在线支付”功能?

需要。根据相关监管要求,在开通银联在线支付服务之前,您必须亲临汇丰中国网点申请激活银联在线支付功能。如需使用银联卡的代收功能,也需确保银联在线支付功能已经激活。

银联在线支付中,是否需要事先开通网上银行?

通过网银可以便捷地实时调整您银联在线支付的限额,还可以修改您预留在汇丰中国手机短信提示服务的手机号码,因此推荐您开通网银,享受更安全便利的服务。但是,即使是没有开通网银的情况下,您也需要事先在银行申请手机短信提醒服务,预留手机号码后方可通过银联在线的验证。

输入银行预留手机号时需注意什么?

您需确保输入的手机号码与您在汇丰中国预留的手机短信提示服务号码完全一致,并且您的手机处于开通状态。中国内地以外的手机号码暂不支持此项服务。

如何更改您在“银联在线支付”注册关联的手机号码?

手机号码为您“银联在线支付”功能的重要验证要素之一,必须确保您在“银联在线支付”网站注册关联的手机号码与您在汇丰中国预留的手机短信提示服务号码一致。 如您确实需要修改手机号码,您首先需要联系汇丰中国,更新您的手机短信提示服务手机号码,并在“银联在线支付”网站进行重新关联。目前,汇丰中国客户可以登录网银,在“手机短信提示服务”下进行修改。为了确保您手机号码已经成功修改,请于次日修改“银联在线支付”注册关联的手机号码。您也可以致电银行客户服务热线完成上述修改。

问: 激活“银联在线支付”功能后,多久可以生效?

成功激活后,您还需登录银联在线完成签约及身份验证,即可开通使用银联在线支付服务。开通后即可使用。

账户相关问题

如何关闭“银联在线支付”业务?

您可以随时登录银联官方网站,关闭在线支付业务。如果需要协助,亦可通过汇丰中国客户服务热线申请关闭此业务。

怎样才能查询到“银联在线支付”的交易历史信息?

登陆银联官方网站,选择“交易查询”,即可在线查询交易历史信息。您也可以登录汇丰中国网上银行查询账户交易历史信息。

如何修改或撤销我的银联在线支付订单?

如果您的交易已经成功,将不可做订单修改或者撤销。此情况下,可以与商户联系进行退货处理。

使用银联在线支付,对同一个订单重复提交会造成重复支付吗?

同一个订单只会进行一次支付,重复支付将被自动拒绝。

使用银联在线支付不成功怎么办?

一般情况下,如果支付不成功,支付页面将显示错误信息及原因,如密码错误、余额不足等。客户可以根据错误提示,选择再次支付或可咨询购物网站或拨打“银联在线支付”客服热线 95516。

什么是安全控件,如何下载安装安全控件?

为保护持卡人的信息安全,银联在线采用支付安全控件,保护用户输入的信息,防止木马程序截取账户密码、银行卡信息等键盘记录。此控件由银联提供,如需下载安装,请登录银联在线支付网站中的帮助中心。

更多信息,请返回常见问题页面进行查询。

免责声明

以上常见问题旨在提供于中国大陆开展金融活动所可能面临的与金融产品、服务或监管要求相关的概略信息。因金融产品/服务及相关监管要求的多样性和复杂性,这些常见问题无法涵盖所有细节。有关信息仅供您参考,且不能将其作为法律、金融或任何其他方面的专业意见。汇丰银行对该等信息之准确性、及时性及/或完整性不作任何担保、陈述或保证,亦不承担与此相关的任何责任。

最近一次更新在2016年11月